Sunday, April 7, 2013





Last March 18, the 50 lovely Binibinis strutted down the catwalk in their stylized Filipiniana attire at the Makati Shangri-La’s Rizal Ballroom for the National Costume Competition.

The competition was hosted by the reigning queens, Miss Universe 2012 1st runner up Janine Tugonon, Binibining Pilipinas-International 2012 Nicole Schmitz, and Binibining Pilipinas-Tourism 2012 Katrina Dimaranan.

The designers artfully created the ladies’ national costume. While some designers opted to spice up the traditional terno, others decided to be more exotic. Some designers made ternos with intricate beadwork and sparkles, while some opted to go bold and daring with their interpretation of tribal attire.

The designers who made the national costumes for the candidates were Peter Lim, Don Cristobal, Karl Javier, Jontie Martinez, Jearson, Jun Lee, Ariel Alvarez, Herbert Chavez, Gener Gozum, Ariel Dulay, Sonny Boy Mindo, Joel Acebuche, Ryan Sarangay, Chico Estiva, Pablo Mendez, Lloyd Arceo, Dave Ocampo, Robert Zamora, Roland Lirio, Jollie Sy, Jian Lasala, Rollie H. Grasa, Cherry Samuya, Ivan dela Cruz, Tess Velasco, S Ong Medina, Jerson Cua, Cary Santiago, Pepsi Herrera, Ariel Alvarez, Shandy Cabase, Arielle Agasang, Khyven Arth Nuguid, Ariel Alvarez, Abbog Ocampo, Poi Subijano, Nikki Martinez, Christian Narvadez, Louie Pangilinan, Alex Pigao, Rogil Flores, Ovince Sityar, Edwin Uy, Renee Salud, Paul Sanglay, Philipp Tampus, and Dino Lloren.

Some of the judges included designer Eddie Ocampo, Binibining Pilipinas-World 2007 Maggie Wilson, Binibining Pilipinas-World 2006 Anna Maris Igpit, Binibining Pilipinas-International 2008 Patricia Fernandez, ABS-CBN Special Projects Head Chit Guerrero, and Miss Universe 2011 3rd runner-up Shamcey Supsup. The winner of the National Costume Competition will be announced during the Grand Coronation Night on April 14.

The National Costume Competition is just one of many pre-pageant activities that the ladies have taken part in on their road to the crown. On April 11, the golden batch of candidates will be strutting down the runway again during the Binibining Pilipinas Fashion Show.

The Binibining Pilipinas 2013 pageant is presented by the Araneta Center, ABS-CBN, CreamSilk with major sponsors San Miguel Brewery, Petron Corporation, San Miguel Power, Ginebra San Miguel and San Miguel Food. Other sponsors are Casino Filipino, PAGCOR, Avon, Lactacyd, Philippine Airlines, Jag, and Manhattan Garden City. Service sponsors are EDSA Shangri-La Hotel, Manila Bulletin, Pizza Hut, David’s Salon, Gold’s Gym, Philippine Daily Inquirer, Joylong Van, Picture City, Dale Carnegie Training Center, Entrepreneur School of Asia, Charter, Ping An Insurance Corporation, Raymond Saldana Photography, and Rightspot Electronic Media.

For ticket purchases and inquiries, call TicketNet at (632) 911 5555 or log on to

No comments:

Post a Comment